What do I have to do to pass my Initial Qualification and become a commercial driver?

There are now four different modules to gaining the LGV driving licence :

Module 1 – Theory Test – Multiple Choice & Hazard Perception Test
Module 2 – Theory Test – Driver CPC Case Study
Module 3 – Practical Test – Practical Driving Test
Module 4 – Practical Test – Driver CPC Practical Demonstration Test

NB. If you only require the licence for personal reasons then you only need to pass Modules 1 and 3. Modules 2 and 4 are only for driving commercially.

Once driving test candidates have passed all four modules, they then become fully qualified LGV driver and will receive a Driver Qualification Card, which will cover them for five years! Within those five years drivers are required to under-go their Periodic Training which will then cover them for another five years, and so on.

We can offer stand alone training / tests for the Mod 4 Practical Test.

You will be trained by a member of our team then examined by our own “in house” examiner.

These courses are currently priced at £150 + vat + £55 Test Fee (£235 in total)

Anyone taking a full HGV Driving course with us will have the Mod 4 CPC included as part of the entire course at no extra cost.

Periodic CPC Training

All drivers of lorries over 3.5 tonnes or Passenger Carrying Vehicles (PCV) with 9 or more seats must complete 35 hours of periodic training every five years.  Periodic training is delivered through training courses attended over the five year period covered by the validity of their current CPC. 

We don’t offer the Periodic Training ourselves but we can recommend Training Providers.

Web Design SkiptonWeb Developer Skipton

Copyright 2022. All Rights Reserved

LGV Training & Tests